IBHRE-C3 Frequently Asked Questions


What is IBHRE-C3?
IBHRE—Continuous Competency, Continuous Learning, Continuous Certification (C3)is a new maintenance program that enables IBHRE-certified specialists to retain their certification by ongoing assessments and review of selected literature specific to their specialty area. Every two years, specialists complete online assessments based on concepts presented in selected scientific literature, including published manuscripts, journal articles, peer-authored papers, and consensus statements mapped to IBHRE certification examination competencies. Specifically, this literature focuses on various topics in cardiac rhythm therapy, electrophysiology and cardiac remote monitoring. IBHRE is transitioning from the existing comprehensive recertification examination that specialists sit for every 10 years.

How does IBHRE-C3 differ from the previous recertification process?
IBHRE-C3 is completely different than the traditional certification maintenance process.  It moves away from the mandatory 10-year maintenance examination to ongoing two-year competency assessment cycles. The following chart compares C3 to IBHRE’s traditional exam. The following chart outlines the differences between the two processes:

IBHRE C3 vs Maintenance Exam Comparison Chart

When will IBHRE-C3 officially launch?
The IBHRE-C3 Program launched April 2022 with the opt-in period beginning January 2022. By December 31, 2023, all specialists certified through 2031 who want to participate in IBHRE-C3 must be enrolled.

How do I register?
Registration is a two-step process. Specialists certified through 2031 must opt-in and then enroll (payment required). Click here for more information.

Can I opt-in and enroll if I have multiple certifications?
Yes, opting-in applies to each of your certifications. When you enroll, you must pay for each certification and complete assessments specific to your certification.

If I enroll now, do I have two years from my enrollment date to complete IBHRE-C3?
No, IBHRE-C3 is not on a rolling calendar basis. For a cycle, C3 must be completed within IBHRE's calendar January (year 1) and December (year 2). For example, IBHRE's first cycle is January 2022 - December 2023; individuals opting in must complete their first cycle by December 2023.

How is my expiration date impacted by IBHRE-C3 participation?
IBHRE-C3 is based upon a two-year certification cycle. By opting-in, your certification expiration date is automatically updated in your IBHRE record to reflect the two-year C3 cycle expiration. For example, when you opt-in to C3, your certification expiration is updated to December 2023.

What computer system is compatible with the C3 platform, Oasis?
Windows Requirements:

  • Operating system: Windows 10+
  • Browser: Chrome v90.0+, Firefox v84.0+, Edge v90.0+
  • Internet connection: DSL, cable modem, or other high-speed connection

Macintosh Requirements:

  • Operating system: Mac OS X 10.6.8+
  • Browser: Mozilla Firefox v84.0+, Safari 14+, Chrome v90.0+
  • Internet connection: DSL, cable modem, or other high-speed connection

How are the assessments conducted?
Unlike the in-person exam proctored at testing centers around the globe, IBHRE-C3 is a fully virtual certification maintenance process that can be completed in the privacy of your home or office. The process is simple. Specialists review articles based on topics in their specialty area and then complete an open book quiz, or assessment. Specialists are required to complete 12 assessments (60 questions) within a two-year period, or cycle. Each assessment is comprised of five challenge questions derived from concepts and principles presented in the scientific article.

Failure to complete 12 assessments during the two-year cycle will result in a lapse of certification. Articles can be selected from a selected reading list that has been compiled by members of IBHRE’s Continuous Learning Task Force (IBHRE-C3 Committee). These IBHRE-certified practitioners are highly qualified and have carefully selected each article from reputable journals and professional organizations in the field of cardiac rhythm therapy and electrophysiology.

How are assessments developed and scored?
Assessments are written by members of the IBHRE Test Writing Committee and are based on competencies, or domains, listed in exam content outlines (See the IBHRE Certification Handbook). Each assessment includes five multiple-choice questions and covers one topic. Assessments are brief and are not timed. A minimum score of 80% is required to pass, meaning that at least four out of five questions must be correct. Specialists have only one attempt at answering each question. Upon completing the assessment, a final score is automatically generated through the portal. Specialists can review quiz results as long as they are enrolled in IBHRE-C3. Assessment results reveal the specialist’s performance and a community comparison score so that the specialist can see how his/her performance measures against peers. In addition, specialists are able to track his/her completion status during the assessment session.

Are CMEs or other continuing education credits offered for completing IBHRE-C3?
No, IBHRE does not offer CME or continuing education credits for the completion of IBHRE-C3.

Will IBHRE-C3 apply to all IBHRE-certified specialists?
Yes. IBHRE-C3 enrollment is required by practitioners with the following credentials:

  • Certified Cardiac Device Specialist (CCDS)
  • Certified Electrophysiology Specialist (CEPS)
  • Cardiac Device Remote Monitoring Specialist (CDRMS)
  • Certified Electrophysiology Specialist – Adult (CEPS-A)
  • Certified Electrophysiology Specialist – Pediatric (CEPS-P)

Questions? Contact IBHRE

Achieving Global Excellence in Heart Rhythm Management